So now, we were watching TV, and slap bang in the middle of  Nytt på Nytt (norsk version of Have I got news for you) the picture freezes… we re-start the satellite box (I don’t WANT satellite TV you understand, it’s just that there is no cable to my house). And then up comes a sign.

No Signal.

So I call Canal Digital. The man says… Well I can see that you have the CDC 7000 box… and you bought it in 2006.”

I say “Yes”

… a pause… as if me buying it in 2006 was some kind of answer…

“that box is not HD”

“thats ok I dont have an HD TV, I have a very old and boxy TV with a small picture, I don’t need HD”

“OK then…but that box is very old.”

I say “But I bought it in 2006” that’s very new!

The man says “no, that’s very old… we have changed the signal so your box wont work”

“Did you say … “so your box wont work..” as in .. we changed it IN ORDER that your box wont work, to force you to buy a new box?”

“Yes.. I mean.. no! The new box will cost 560 kroner…”

I say “But… why was the box working 5 minutes ago, did you change the signal 5 minutes ago, are millions of Norwegians calling in as we speak?”

long pause … “Er… No..”

“So.. why doesn’t my box work anymore?”

“The box is old, it doesn’t recognize the signal…”

But.. why did it Stop just now…

“The box is old, it doesn’t recognize the signal…”

I feel I am not going to win… I say… OK, can I get the box before Christmas

The man says..” Yes”

I say ” OK then Ill buy the new box.”

The man then reads me a long and lengthy contract where I have to say yes in the right places. Its recorded as acts as the contract.. Hmm…

I hang up the phone.. slightly depressed and slightly poorer… without thinking.. I press the TV remote…

The TV is working, and Nytt på Nytt just finished…

Typical…